The Stages of Grief

Provo Canyon School serves as a school and treatment center for children who exhibit a wide variety of behavioral and psychological difficulties. Among the children helped at Provo Canyon School are those who are struggling with grief after experiencing a death in the family or the end of a relationship.

Grief, which is associated with a loss, marks a difficult time in many people’s lives, and people deal with their feelings of loss in different ways. Recognizing and understanding the five stages of grief helps with the process.

Typically, the first stage in the grieving process is denial. During this stage, the person does not accept what has happened or tries to avoid thinking about the situation. Following denial is anger, during which a person feels upset about having to experience the loss. Then, during the stage of bargaining, a person may try to think of someone to blame, or try to make some type of deal to get what they lost back again. These stages are followed by depression, during which a person feels sadness about the situation. Eventually, a person reaches the final stage of grief, which is acceptance. The person understands the loss and is able to go on with living in a new way. While each person experiences the stages of grief in a different way, with help and support, many people are able to reach the stage of acceptance.

This entry was posted in Provo Canyon School, Treatment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s